It’s March 13th, and my non-resolution to lose weight/get in shape is catching up to me. I’ve barely been keeping to a gym routine, and this desk job is further flattening out my already pan-cake-shapped behind. One positive thing I’ve noticed: the wider my ass gets, the smaller my waist looks. Ha!

I’m in two weddings this year, which I’m absolutely thrilled about. It also means that I’m going to be in lots of photographs in short cocktail dresses, and I have a few beach-themed bachelorette parties creeping up. In short, it’s time to get my act together–for real.

To keep myself on track, I’m posting the measurements my mom took last time I was home, and I’m going to measure again every few weeks, to see if I’m making any progress. I think it’ s healthier than just tracking the scale (although I’m doing that too).

I spent (or wasted, depending on how you look at it) twenty minutes of my day putting together a “Be Thin” motivational collage using pictures from the Sports Illustrated Swimsuit Edition (Note: If anyone would like my issues of  SI, apparently my subscription is through October 2011…I swear I didn’t order it!). I admit that this is a little bit of a regression to my less-confident adolescent days, when I had a sign over my bed that read something to the effect of “You’re Fat: Get Up and Exercise.” I don’t recall the exacting wording. But it was made out of crudely ripped orange construction paper and black sharpie, with a big red “no” symbol going through it. Not the most uplifting thing to wake up to.

This time, though, my expectations are a bit more realistic. I just want to make it through bathing suit season without fighting tears in the dressing room. For once in my life.

Here’s my starting point:

 

As of February 27th:

  • Weight: 122 lbs.
  • Bust 37 1/2″
  • Under Bust 29″
  • Waist 29″
  • Abdomen 37 1/2″
  • Hip 38 1/2″
  • Right Thigh 23 1/2″
  • Right Upper Arm 11″
  • Left Thigh 23″
  • Left Upper Arm 10 1/2″

 

My mom says that is a perfect hourglass figure: 37 x 29 x 37. So the object here is to keep the hourglass–just make it smaller. And try not to lose too much boob in the process.

Here’s the dress I just bought for the wedding in August:

 

Bridesmaid Dress, Wedding #1

 

Obviously, I need some serious work on my upper arms/chest. It’s a really pretty, deep “Horizon Blue” from David’s Bridal. I’m not sure if it needs to be hemmed, now that I’ve seen it in my size. (I don’t want my knees to show.) Thoughts? This is what it looks like on the model.

Anyway, if you notice that I haven’t posted updates about diet/exercise or happen to talk to me in real life: please motivate me, and keep me on track!

Thank you.